PT-141 10 mg
Peptide Library · Profile
PT-141 10 mg
This is the only compound in this library with a licensed counterpart. Bremelanotide is approved by the FDA, sold as Vyleesi, and has two phase 3 trials behind it. That makes it the one page here where we can be sceptical using nothing but the manufacturer's own label — and the label is the least flattering document about this drug that exists.
The short version
Plain English first. Everything below this section is the same material with the sources, the numbers and the caveats attached.
What it is
A melanocortin peptide, and the only compound in this library with a licensed counterpart — bremelanotide, sold as Vyleesi, FDA-approved in 2019.
What has actually been measured
Two phase 3 trials and a manufacturer’s own label. That label is the least flattering document about this drug in existence, which is why this page leans on it.
What has not been measured
Men. The approval is women only, for one specific condition, at one specific dose.
What most people get wrong
The dose and the tolerability. The approved dose is 1.75 mg, well under what the market sells — and 40% of trial participants were nauseated, against 1.3% on placebo.
What PT-141 is
PT-141 is bremelanotide: a seven amino acid ring, closed by a bridge between an aspartate and a lysine side chain. It came out of a University of Arizona programme that was trying to build a tanning peptide, and found something else instead.
| Free base | Acetate salt | |
|---|---|---|
| Formula | C50H68N14O10 | · xCH3COOH, 1 ≤ x ≤ 2 |
| Molecular weight | 1,025.2 Da | 1,085.2 Da as the mono-acetate |
| CAS | 189691-06-3 | 1607799-13-2 |
| Structure | Ac-Nle-cyclo-(Asp-His-D-Phe-Arg-Trp-Lys)-OH, a lactam bridge | |
The formula line is quoted from the FDA label itself, which is a better source than any supplier catalogue.
It is Melanotan II with one atom changed
The two molecules are the same ring in the same order. The difference is the very end:
| C-terminus | |
|---|---|
| Melanotan II | …-Lys-NH2 — an amide |
| Bremelanotide | …-Lys-OH — a carboxylic acid |
That one substitution is why one of them tans you reliably and the other is a licensed medicine. Bremelanotide is reported to be an active metabolite of Melanotan II — the citation is Hadley 2005, which we could not open, so we state the structural difference as fact and the metabolite relationship as a report.
What a "10 mg" vial actually holds
The approved product states its own dose two ways: 1.75 mg bremelanotide, equivalent to 1.89 mg bremelanotide acetate. A 7.4% difference, on the licensed article, printed on the carton.
FDA's formula line allows one or two acetates, so the salt is a range rather than a constant. Working the masses through, a nominal 10 mg vial holds somewhere between about 8.2 mg and 9.5 mg of actual bremelanotide depending on counterion — before purity or residual water. That is our arithmetic, not a sourced figure. And we could find no supplier anywhere publishing a mass for the trifluoroacetate form, which is what reverse-phase purification normally leaves behind.
Vendors routinely print the free-base CAS beside acetate product and quote 1,025 Da for material that is salt. Ask which form, and ask what the milligram figure counts.
How it works
This is one of the few compounds here where the mechanism is genuinely established rather than asserted. It is a melanocortin agonist acting centrally, at MC3 and MC4 receptors.
Molinoff and colleagues, 2003: PT-141 "is an agonist at melanocortin receptors including the MC3R and MC4R, which are expressed primarily in the central nervous system." Systemic dosing lights up hypothalamic neurons. MC4R is understood to modulate sexual desire. None of that is contested.
"It works on the brain, not the blood vessels"
You will see this everywhere, usually as the reason PT-141 is supposedly safer or cleaner than a PDE5 inhibitor. It is directionally true and routinely overstated.
Central initiation does not mean the drug has no cardiovascular action. The label says it raises blood pressure and lowers heart rate after every dose. It is contraindicated in cardiovascular disease. And the entire intranasal development programme was halted by the FDA in 2007 over blood pressure.
One vendor page manages to contradict its own marketing inside a single paragraph — explaining that the erectile effect is "secondary to this central mechanism stimulating nitric oxide production in penile tissue." Nitric oxide in penile tissue is a vascular mechanism. That is the Viagra mechanism.
The accurate statement is that PT-141 is centrally initiated and systemically active. It is a different starting point, not an absence of effect on the rest of you.
The pigmentation is the same mechanism
Bremelanotide is not selective. MC1R — the pigmentation receptor — is part of the family it agonises. That is not a side effect bolted on from somewhere else; it is the same pharmacology doing something you did not ask for. See the safety section, where the numbers are worse than most people expect.
Pharmacokinetics
Every figure in this section comes from an approved drug label. Nothing else in this library can say that.
| Single 1.75 mg subcutaneous dose | |
|---|---|
| Cmax | 72.8 ng/mL |
| Tmax | about 1 hour (0.5 to 1.0) |
| Terminal half-life | about 2.7 hours (1.9 to 4.0) |
| Bioavailability, subcutaneous | about 100% |
| Volume of distribution | 25.0 ± 5.8 L |
| Plasma protein binding | 21% |
| Metabolism | peptidase hydrolysis of the ring; no CYP involvement stated |
| Excretion | 64.8% urine, 22.8% faeces |
Two numbers worth pausing on
Bioavailability of roughly 100% under the skin. Unusual for a peptide, and it is precisely why the subcutaneous route succeeded where the nasal route failed. Intranasal needed more than 7 mg to produce any erectile signal. Subcutaneous does the job at 1.75 mg.
A 2.7 hour half-life, against a blood pressure effect that peaks at 2 to 4 hours and takes up to 12 hours to settle. The cardiovascular effect outlasts the drug.
One consequence: the widely circulated claim that "the effects last 24 to 72 hours" has no source we could find, and nothing in the label's pharmacokinetics supports a multi-day duration. Treat it as unsourced.
What the evidence shows
Two phase 3 trials, 1,267 patients, double-blind, placebo-controlled, published in Obstetrics & Gynecology, reviewed by the FDA and approved. Then read what they found.
The RECONNECT trials
Two identical 24-week trials in premenopausal women with hypoactive sexual desire disorder. The two co-primary endpoints were a desire score running 1.2 to 6.0, and a distress question scored 0 to 4.
| Desire (FSFI-D) | Distress | |
|---|---|---|
| Study 1 — bremelanotide | +0.5 | −0.7 |
| Study 1 — placebo | +0.2 | −0.4 |
| Study 2 — bremelanotide | +0.6 | −0.7 |
| Study 2 — placebo | +0.2 | −0.4 |
Statistically significant, all four. The difference from placebo is about 0.3 to 0.4 points on a 4.8-point scale — and the standard deviations run 1.0 to 1.2, three times the size of the effect.
The endpoint that failed, in FDA's words
Satisfying sexual events — the count of actual encounters — showed "no difference between treatment groups from the start of the study to end."
The manufacturer's own clinician site concedes it. So: the drug moved a questionnaire score about desire, and did not increase the number of satisfying sexual encounters. Both things are true and only one of them is advertised.
The re-analysis
Spielmans, 2021, in the Journal of Sex Research, went back through the trial protocols. The findings are uncomfortable:
- 72.7% of the outcomes listed in the protocols were not reported as specified. Fifteen measures that were not in the protocols were reported instead.
- Satisfying sexual events were demoted from co-primary to secondary more than a year after the trials began, and the published paper did not disclose the change.
- Dropping out because of side effects: 18.5% on the drug against 0.9 to 3.0% on placebo — and the original paper did not report it.
- Of those who finished and were offered a year's free continuation, 40.5% on the drug took it, against 69.4% on placebo. People who had been on the real thing were markedly less keen to carry on than people who had been on nothing.
- 35% of women who met the sponsor's own definition of a responder said in exit interviews that they had experienced no meaningful benefit.
In fairness: a published commentary disputes this re-analysis (PMID 33835907). We could not open it, so we are not characterising its arguments — only telling you it exists.
The evidence in men, which is the way it is actually sold
Everything above is in women. The approved label says, verbatim, that the drug "is not indicated for the treatment of HSDD in postmenopausal women or in men" and "is not indicated to enhance sexual performance." Here is the entire male evidence base:
| Study | What it is |
|---|---|
| Diamond 2004 | Intranasal. Erectile response reached significance only above 7 mg — by the route FDA later stopped. |
| Diamond 2005 | Intranasal, with sildenafil. We could not read it; known to us only through the sponsor's paraphrase. |
| Safarinejad 2008 | The journal has published an Expression of Concern on it (PMID 36626345). |
| Palatin 2010 | 49 men, subcutaneous. A safety and pharmacokinetic study. No efficacy was measured. |
| Phase 2, from 2024 | Open label, with a PDE5 inhibitor. No results published as of this writing. |
There is no completed, published, placebo-controlled trial of subcutaneous bremelanotide with an efficacy endpoint in men that we could find. Not one.
A separate bremelanotide paper by the same author, in women, is indexed by PubMed as retracted (PMID 18179455). We were unable to open either notice, so we cannot tell you the reasons given for either — only that they exist, and that the sponsor's own 2023 announcement of a renewed male programme cites one of these papers.
Reconstitution
Unusually, there is a correct answer here: 1.75 mg, because that is the licensed dose, and it is the only dose in this compound's history with a completed efficacy trial behind it.
| Bacteriostatic water | Concentration | 1 unit (U-100) = | 1.75 mg draw |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 mL | 5 mg/mL | 50 mcg | 35 units · 0.35 mL |
| 3 mL | 3.33 mg/mL | 33.3 mcg | 52.5 units · 0.53 mL |
| 5 mL | 2 mg/mL | 20 mcg | 87.5 units · 0.88 mL |
Two millilitres is the sensible choice. It puts a full dose inside a third of a syringe and keeps every draw on a round-ish number.
A 10 mg vial is under six doses
At 1.75 mg, this vial holds 5.7 doses. The label permits a maximum of 8 doses in a month, so even at the highest permitted frequency one vial does not quite cover four weeks — which lands neatly inside the 28 days bacteriostatic water's preservative is validated for.
That is a rare piece of good news in reconstitution arithmetic. The supply planner will confirm the dates.
On solubility, our two best supplier sources disagree by an order of magnitude — one says 5 mg/mL in buffered saline, another says over 50 mg/mL in water. Neither publishes a method. At the concentrations above it dissolves either way, so the disagreement is academic here, but it is worth knowing that neither figure is trial-derived.
Reported protocols
The approved regimen is specific, and everything sold departs from it in at least one direction. Here it is, verbatim from the label.
1.75 mg subcutaneously, in the abdomen or thigh, at least 45 minutes before anticipated sexual activity. No more than one dose in 24 hours. No more than 8 doses in a month. Premenopausal women with acquired, generalised HSDD.
What circulates, and where each number comes from
| Dose | Where it comes from |
|---|---|
| 1.75 mg SC | The label. Cleanly sourced. Every legitimate figure traces here. |
| 2 mg SC, for men | No citation anywhere. It is the licensed regimen with the dose rounded up 14% and the population changed. The page publishing it concedes there are no firm guidelines for men. |
| 0.5 to 1.5 mg daily, 16 weeks | No traceable source, and it runs directly at the reason the monthly cap exists. |
| 1 to 2 mg intranasal, 3× a week | The route FDA halted in 2007, at roughly a fifth of the only nasal dose that ever showed an effect — and 12 or 13 doses a month against a cap of 8. |
Why the monthly cap is the number to respect
It is easy to read "8 doses per month" as a conservative dosing convention. It is not. It does not appear in the dosage section of the label at all. It sits inside the warning about skin pigmentation, immediately after this:
38% of patients developed focal hyperpigmentation after receiving the drug daily for 8 days. Among those who continued for 8 more consecutive days, a further 14% developed new pigment changes.
A 16-week daily protocol is roughly 112 consecutive doses. The label's own data describes what happens well before you get there. That the cap sits inside the pigmentation warning rather than the dosing instructions is our reading of the label's structure — we could not find FDA stating the rationale in so many words — but the placement is not ambiguous.
One further claim we chased and could not find: that daily 2.5 mg protocols "have been studied in obese women." No such study exists that we could locate.
Storage
Lyophilised, sealed, cold, dark and dry. Our storage guide covers the general conventions.
Supplier guidance for research powder is −20 °C for a year, −80 °C for two, and once in solvent, a month at −20 °C. These are supplier stability claims rather than stability-indicating data.
The licensed product is stored the opposite way, and that is not a contradiction
Vyleesi's label says: "Store at or below 25 °C. Do not freeze. Protect from light." A room-temperature product that must not be frozen.
That is a finished, buffered, aqueous formulation in a sealed autoinjector — a different article from a lyophilised research powder, formulated and stability-tested as a unit. Do not read the licensed storage condition across to a vial of powder, and do not read the powder's freezer requirement as evidence the licensed product is fragile.
Reported effects
This is the best-documented safety section in this library, and it is not reassuring. Everything below is from the approved label, describing 627 people on the drug against 620 on placebo.
| Adverse reaction | Drug | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Nausea | 40.0% | 1.3% |
| Flushing | 20.3% | 0.3% |
| Injection site reactions | 13.2% | 8.4% |
| Headache | 11.3% | 1.9% |
| Vomiting | 4.8% | 0.2% |
The label, verbatim: "The discontinuation rate due to adverse reactions was 18% among patients treated with VYLEESI and 2% among patients treated with placebo." Nausea alone required anti-emetics in 13% of patients, and pre-treating with ondansetron did not help.
"Well tolerated" is the single most common thing said about this compound online. Forty per cent nausea and an 18% dropout rate is not what that phrase means.
Blood pressure — the two contraindications
Label, verbatim: "VYLEESI transiently increases blood pressure and reduces heart rate after each dose… maximal increases of 6 mmHg in systolic and 3 mmHg in diastolic blood pressure that peaked between 2 to 4 hours post dose… returned to baseline usually within 12 hours."
And the whole of the contraindications section: "VYLEESI is contraindicated in patients who have uncontrolled hypertension or known cardiovascular disease." Two contraindications, both cardiovascular. For anyone self-administering without a blood pressure check, that is the most important sentence on the label.
FDA's own risk review quotes a smaller figure, 2 to 3 mmHg. The two are almost certainly different quantities — a maximum observed against a mean adjusted for placebo — but we found nothing reconciling them, so we quote the label, which is the regulated text.
Skin pigmentation, and why it is not a tan
At label frequency, focal hyperpigmentation — face, gums and breasts — occurred in 1% of patients and in none on placebo. With daily dosing it reached 38% in eight days.
Two things the label is explicit about, and both matter:
- "Patients with dark skin were more likely to develop focal hyperpigmentation." FDA's review puts numbers on it: 4.1% in Black patients against 0.6% in white patients.
- "Resolution of the focal hyperpigmentation was not confirmed in all patients after discontinuation." FDA's review is blunter — only about half resolved. It may be permanent.
This is why "PT-141 doesn't cause tanning" is wrong as usually stated. The honest version is that it produces far less pigmentation than Melanotan II at licensed frequency, and that what it does produce is blotchy, focal, on the face, and possibly permanent. That is not a tan. It is a documented adverse reaction.
Interactions and liver
The drug slows gastric emptying, so it can blunt oral medicines that need a threshold concentration — antibiotics, for instance. The label singles out oral naltrexone, warning of "the severe consequence of naltrexone treatment failure." NIH's LiverTox rates it a possible rare cause of liver injury on a single reported case.
Regulatory status
PT-141 sits differently from everything else in this library, in three separate ways — and each one is counterintuitive enough to be worth the explanation.
United States — it is an approved drug
Approved 21 June 2019 as Vyleesi, NDA 210557, for premenopausal women with acquired, generalised HSDD. Sold to Cosette Pharmaceuticals in January 2024 and still marketed.
That approval also explains why bremelanotide was not among the seven peptides before FDA's compounding committee in July 2026. The statute sets out three routes for a substance used in compounding, and the second is being a component of an approved drug. Bremelanotide is exactly that, so it never needs the bulks list at all. BPC-157, TB-500, Epitalon and the rest are on that track precisely because no approved drug contains them.
None of which makes a research vial lawful. Compounding rules govern a licensed pharmacist preparing a medicine for an identified patient from registered material. They have nothing to say about a vial sold for laboratory use.
Canada — not named, which is not the same as permitted
Health Canada's advisory of 9 April 2026 names fourteen peptides. We read it in full. Neither "PT-141" nor "bremelanotide" appears anywhere in it — while Melanotan I and II do. Two nearly identical molecules, one named and one not.
Do not read that as approval. The advisory's general position still stands, verbatim: peptides "are generally regulated as prescription drugs" in Canada, unauthorized drug products "are illegal in Canada," and research-use-only labelling "does not make these products legal or exempt from regulatory requirements."
An honest gap: we could not query Health Canada's Drug Product Database or the Prescription Drug List directly — both were unreachable from our environment. We can find no Canadian authorised product containing bremelanotide, but that is an absence of evidence rather than a confirmed answer, and we would rather say so than imply we checked.
Sport — the one compound here that S0 does not catch
We searched the 2026 Prohibited List for "bremelanotide", "PT-141", "melanotan" and "melanocortin". None appears.
For every other compound in this library that is where the analysis begins, not ends, because Section S0 sweeps up anything "with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use." Bremelanotide has current FDA approval. On the plain text of S0, it falls outside it — and it is not a peptide hormone or growth factor under S2 either.
Melanotan II makes the point exactly
MT-II is also unnamed on the List. But MT-II has no approval anywhere, so S0 catches it. Two molecules that differ by a single terminal group land on opposite sides of the same rule, purely because one of them has a marketing authorisation. That is what S0 actually keys on.
Three caveats an athlete must not skip. This is our reading of the List's text, not a WADA ruling — we found no decision or guidance addressing bremelanotide. S0 explicitly covers discontinued drugs, so if Vyleesi ever left the market the status would arguably flip. And national anti-doping bodies can be stricter than WADA. Ask your own organisation.
Sentient Biogenix supplies PT-141 for laboratory research use only. It is not for human or veterinary use.
Questions we actually get
Does it work for men?
Nobody has published a completed, placebo-controlled trial of subcutaneous PT-141 with an efficacy endpoint in men. The approved label says in as many words that the drug is not indicated in men and not indicated to enhance sexual performance. The male evidence that exists is intranasal, from 2004 and 2005, at four times the dose, by a route the FDA halted — plus one paper the journal has since flagged with an Expression of Concern.
How well does it work in women, then?
On a desire scale running 1.2 to 6.0, it moved scores about 0.3 to 0.4 points more than placebo. The number of actual satisfying sexual encounters did not change at all. When women who had finished the trial were offered a free year of continued treatment, more of the placebo group signed up than the drug group.
Is 2 mg the standard dose?
No. 1.75 mg is the licensed dose. The 2 mg figure has no citation anywhere we could find; it appears to be the approved regimen with the number rounded up and the population swapped.
Will it tan me, or stain me?
Neither, reliably, but the risk is real. One per cent of patients at licensed frequency developed blotchy pigment on the face, gums or breasts. Dosed daily for eight days, 38% did. It is more likely on darker skin, and about half the cases in FDA's review never resolved.
Why only eight doses a month?
Because of the pigmentation. That limit is not in the dosing section of the label — it sits inside the warning about skin discolouration, right after the 38% figure. Protocols recommending daily use are running straight at the thing the cap exists to prevent.
Is it safe for me if I have high blood pressure?
The label contraindicates it in uncontrolled hypertension and in known cardiovascular disease. Those are the only two contraindications on it, and they exist because the drug reliably raises blood pressure for several hours after every dose. This is not a compound to take without knowing your numbers.
Why isn't it banned in sport when everything else here is?
Because it is an approved medicine. The catch-all that captures the rest of this library only applies to substances with no approval anywhere. Melanotan II — almost the same molecule — is caught, because nobody has ever licensed it. Do not take that as clearance from us; ask your own anti-doping body.
References
- US Food and Drug Administration. VYLEESI (bremelanotide injection) prescribing information, NDA 210557, revised 03/2024. dailymed.nlm.nih.gov — the structure and molecular weight, the indication and its limitations, the dose and frequency, all pharmacokinetics, the adverse reaction table, the blood pressure and hyperpigmentation warnings, the contraindications, and the storage condition.
- US Food and Drug Administration. VYLEESI label PDF, 210557s002, 2020. accessdata.fda.gov
- US Food and Drug Administration. Risk assessment review, 210557Orig1s000. accessdata.fda.gov — hyperpigmentation by skin colour, and the proportion that resolved.
- Kingsberg SA, Clayton AH, Portman D, et al. Bremelanotide for the treatment of hypoactive sexual desire disorder: two randomized phase 3 trials. Obstetrics & Gynecology 2019;134(5):899–908. PMID 31599840. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Spielmans GI. Re-analyzing phase III bremelanotide trials for "hypoactive sexual desire disorder" in women. The Journal of Sex Research 2021. DOI 10.1080/00224499.2021.1885601. taylorandfrancisgroup.com — the unreported outcomes, the endpoint switch, the dropout rate and the extension uptake. A published commentary disputes this analysis (PMID 33835907); we could not read it.
- Simon JA, Kingsberg SA, Portman D, et al. Long-term safety and efficacy of bremelanotide for hypoactive sexual desire disorder. Obstetrics & Gynecology 2019;134(5):909–917. PMID 31599847. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Molinoff PB, Shadiack AM, Earle D, Diamond LE, Quon CY. PT-141: a melanocortin agonist for the treatment of sexual dysfunction. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences 2003;994:96–102. PMID 12851303. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Diamond LE, Earle DC, Rosen RC, Willett MS, Molinoff PB. Double-blind, placebo-controlled evaluation of the safety, pharmacokinetic properties and pharmacodynamic effects of intranasal PT-141. International Journal of Impotence Research 2004;16(1):51–59. PMID 14963471. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov — the source of the "above 7 mg intranasal" figure.
- Palatin Technologies / King Pharmaceuticals. Announcement of delayed phase 3 plans for bremelanotide, 30 August 2007, filed with the SEC. sec.gov — FDA's "serious concerns about the acceptable benefit/risk ratio", citing blood pressure as its greatest safety concern.
- Expression of Concern: Salvage of sildenafil failures with bremelanotide. Journal of Urology 2023. PMID 36626345. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov — concerning Safarinejad MR, Hosseini SY, J Urol 2008;179:1066–1071.
- RETRACTED: Evaluation of the safety and efficacy of bremelanotide in female subjects with arousal disorder. Journal of Sexual Medicine 2008. PMID 18179455. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
- Health Canada. Think twice before injecting peptides bought online. Public advisory, 9 April 2026. recalls-rappels.canada.ca
- Federal Register. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, notice of meeting, 16 April 2026, docket FDA-2025-N-6895. federalregister.gov — the seven substances heard, none of them bremelanotide.
- World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, section S0, in force 1 January 2026.
- National Institutes of Health. LiverTox: bremelanotide. ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Listed rather than hidden, the things we could not check. We could not query Health Canada's Drug Product Database or Prescription Drug List — both were unreachable — so our Canadian statement is an absence of found evidence, not a confirmed null. We could not open the retraction notice or the Expression of Concern, so we report that they exist and not why. We could not read Diamond 2005, the commentary disputing Spielmans, or the Hadley paper cited for the Melanotan II metabolite relationship — the structural difference between the two molecules is independently confirmed, the metabolite claim is not. Our reading that WADA's S0 does not capture bremelanotide is a reading of the published text, not a ruling. And no supplier publishes a mass for the trifluoroacetate form, so our peptide-content range is arithmetic rather than sourced.